Students who are enrolled at another institution may, with written permission of their home institution, study at NCC for no more than two consecutive semesters, while maintaining matriculated status at their home college. The home institution must grant permission and list recommended courses to be taken at Nassau Community College. Check out the Class Schedule for class availability, and select the semester for which you are planning on enrolling.
- Submit a Visiting Student Application for Admission with a $50.00 non-refundable fee to the Office of the Registrar. Follow the instructions on the application.
- Submit the Home Institution Approval with your application by the admission completion deadlines listed below.
- To download and print the application, please click here.
ADMISSION COMPLETION DEADLINES
Please note that anyone can originally register a visiting student who may be away; however, a letter of authorization is needed from the student if someone else is going to add/change a class or withdraw a student from a class. College reserves the right to close admission at any time.
If a deadline falls on a weekend, applications and all supporting credentials are accepted through the following Monday.
- Summer Semester: MAY 25 (Session I) June 24 (Session II).
- Fall Semester: AUGUST 15
- Winterim: DECEMBER 20
- Spring Semester: JANUARY 5
Faxed or mailed application for Visiting Students will be accepted until two (2) weeks prior to the deadlines above, thereafter all applications must be processed in-person only. Applications can be mailed to theOffice of the Registrar, 1 Education Drive, Garden City, NY 11530 or faxed to 516.572.9975. Once your completed application is processed by the Office of the Registrar, you will receive information in the mail with your NCC ID number and instructions on how to register online for your approved courses. Registration for courses will be allowed after our current students have had an opportunity to register for the upcoming term(s). Please be advised that during peak times, the Service Hours of Operation do not take into account the need to limit the walk-ins earlier than the posted closing time. If more students are in line than we can service within the posted hours, students will receive front-of-the line passes for the next business day.
New York State Public Health law requires that all students attending college in the state who were born on or after January 1, 1957 and who are enrolled for six or more chargeable contact hours file with the College proof of immunization against measles, mumps and rubella. ALL students regardless of age who are enrolled for six or more credit hours must fill out the meningitis survey which is available online and through the Health Center. Failure to comply with this law within 30 days from the start of the semester will result in a student’s disenrollment from classes, without refund of tuition and fees. Additional information regarding this regulation will be mailed to all admitted students.
Center for Students with Disabilities
A variety of services are available to those who have a documented physical, psychological, hearing, visual or learning disability. For more information, contact the Center for Students with Disabilities Web site or call at 516.572.7241 (TTY 516.572.7617).
To be eligible for the resident tuition rate, a student must have one year’s legal residency in New York State and six months in the County of Nassau. The legal residency of unmarried students under 21 is deemed to be that of their parents. To check on what documents may be provided to proof residency, see our Residency Requirements page.
New York State students from counties other than Nassau County may have the non-residency tuition rate waived by submitting a Certificate of Residency from their home county fiscal office prior to payment of tuition and fees. The submission of a valid Certificate of Residency qualifies students who reside in counties other than Nassau for the Nassau County resident tuition rate.
Applications for a Certificate of Residency are available in the Bursar’s Office, Tower Lower Level and Student Financial Affairs, Tower 5th floor. For students commencing study in the fall semester, the certificate will cover a full year, including fall and spring semesters and summer sessions. Certificates of Residency must be renewed each year. Individuals on student visas cannot qualify for a Certificate of Residency.